jump to navigation

Christmas Knitting Has Begun! August 26, 2006

Posted by cozystitches in WIPs.
trackback

Well, I’ve begun the Christmas Knitting!  I have sent out the email to my sisters asking what they want, I’ve asked my mom and grandma what they want.  I still need to ask my dad.  So far, I’ve received The following answers:Sister #1:  No answer yet…she has until October 1 to tell me what she wants or she will get (maybe) a gift card.

Sister #2:  She wants something small with cows.  Anyone have any ideas on this?  I’m clueless.  Especially something I could knit!

Sister #3:  She requested a lace scarf LAST YEAR (I’m getting BIG points for worst sister of the year award) but the yarn didn’t arrive in time.  THEN I also neglected to get her anything for her birthday.  Again, worst sister of the year award.  This year I’ve bought the pattern (see that, I BOUGHT a pattern) and a hook (to add sparklies).  I also have said yarn….Admiral Blue ZEPHYR.  You know you’re jealous.  I’d link the pattern here, but she may (by some freak accident) read my blog.

Sister #4:  Hasn’t given me any answers.  Again, like sister #1 she has till Oct 1.  I’ve thought of making her another sweater, as I made one for her years ago.  But I’ll have to ask her first.  And I’m wondering if I have enough time.

Sister #5:  She requested bookmarks.  I’ve looked for and printed out a few patterns.  My baby sister so far has been the best!  Last year I said I wanted specifics and gave them a deadline.  She DREW me a picture of what she wanted!  It was great!

Mom:  She requested a sewn bag.

Grandma:  Requested Pictures.  WAY easy, and since I work at the Photo dept I can wait until the 24th of Dec. and still have plenty of time!

As for MY kids, well I’ve actually started on one!  And I have an update.  I started this Last week.  After casting on for the darned thing 4 times it finally went comfortably over her freakishly large head.  It’s almost long enough, and is 3″ wider (according to my gauge) than I first planned.  I’m loving it, and wish it would do a bit more pooling, but it looks great!  And it will be worn by all three kids.  I love hand me downs!

Here’s progress on Marialis.  Ugh.  The rows are still unbelievably long.  I have 21 sts between each marker (that’s 18 repeats) and will be going to 22 on this next row.  I have a long way to go yet.  But I am knitting on her.  I’ve done about 1-2 rows every day or so.

I’m also plugging along on the Falling Leaves Socks.  I finally started on the heel gussets.  I’d have taken a picture, but I can’t find them.  They’re around here somewhere.

I’ve been currently reading The Yarn Harlot’s blog.  And she has inspired me to try to finish things.  She makes so many beautiful things.  I’m trying to get more things finished so I can feel like I’ve accomplished things.  I’m liking the knit on many things as this helps me from hating the projects.  Hrm…maybe I should pull out Sonnet or Pinwheel???

Finally, here’s a pic of The Boy.  He was NONE too happy to be on the floor and wanted Mama to get off the computer and pick him up.  He’s cute even when he’s screaming.

Comments»

1. Kara - August 29, 2006

You are way ahead of me! I need to get busy on some quilts, yet I have no desire to sew right now. 😦 My ambition comes and goes I guess….I just wish it would come back so I can get started on gifts for Christmas!

Cute picture of the boy…..what a face! 😀


Leave a Reply

