jump to navigation

Phoenix Shawl August 18, 2007

Posted by cozystitches in Cozy Ramblings, Patterns.
trackback

Phoenix Shawl

Phoenix Shawl

I love shawls. They make great accessories, add extra warmth and can look elegant. What I don’t like bout most shawls is that they tend to slip off my shoulders and they point to an area I’d rather avoid.

In steps the Faroese Shawl Design. Solving both the slippage and pointing issues and still looking great at the same time. Armed with both Barbara Walker’s Treasury of Knitting and Myrna Stahman’s Shawls and Scarves book and encouragement from Myrna herself a shawl was conceived.

The shawl is made up of a variation of Feather and Fan called The Ostrich Plume and stockinet. Simple enough for an advanced beginner, this lace shows off the beauty of variegated yarns.

Phoenix is shown in a fingering and DK weight yarns. The fingering weight is a much lighter shawl, where as the DK weight is both heavier and larger. Kona is widely available as undyed so you can dye your own color way for a truly unique shawl. Or for those leery of dyeing their own yarn, there are several places that will custom dye Kona for you.

Phoenix Shawl

Phoenix Shawl

Phoenix Shawl

Specifics on the shawl:

Finished Measurements:

  • Fingering Weight: 72” across the top, 30” deep
  • DK Weight: 104” across the top, 40” deep

Materials:

  • 1200 yds Fingering Yarn; Yarn used: KnitPicks’ Bare Merino Fingering in Natural or
  • 1600yds DK weight, yarn used: Henry’s Attic Kona DK dyed by Little Turtle Knits
  • US 6 or US 7 knitting needle (or size needed for desired drape)
  • Stitch Markers
  • Needle for weaving

Price: $6.50

Errata:

Note:  The center markers migrate as the shawl grows, following the Faroese shape.

Lace Row 17 :  K4, yo, k16, m1, k2, m1, k16, m1 * (Lace B) k2, yo, ssk (twice), k, k2tog (twice), (yo, k1) 5 times, yo, ssk (twice), k1, k2tog (twice), yo, k2 *, m1, k16, m1, k2, m1, k16, yo, k4.  111sts

Comments»

1. Janice - September 16, 2007

I’m almost blind but I have experience knitting. I need something easy to keep track of yet the elegant look of a true shawlnitter. I’ve never made a shawl before but your ‘PHOENIX SHAWL’ looks like something I could do. Could I use sportweight yarn? I think I’d get discouraged with the fingering weight. So please direct me.

Janice

2. Janice Jewers - April 12, 2008

Tammy,
Please help. I just purchased your ‘Phoenix Shawl’ pattern thru Pay Pal & I can’t dwnload it. I was directed to

http://www.impro.com-download_item……..
and it’s not working.

Janice
neehma@yahoo.com

3. Leslie - June 26, 2008

I’m trying to purchase your shawl pattern but when I hit the “Buy Now” button I get a big blank white screen.

4. Laurie - March 28, 2009

I am having trouble with your Phoenix Shawl pattern. In row 17, how do I fit “Lace B” onto the 19 stitches between the markers? And, before the first marker, the directions are for less stitches than I have on the needle.

Thanks

5. Tammy Hutchings - March 28, 2009

Hi Laurie,

On row 17 you do: Lace B as follows (over 27sts):

k2, yo, ssk (twice), k1, k2tog(twice), (yo,k1) 5 times, yo, ssk(twice), k1, k2tog (twice), yo, k2.

I apologize for the confusion. Please let me know if you have any more questions. 🙂

6. Laurie - March 29, 2009

Thanks, Tammy – but I think my confusion is how does the part between the markers get to 27 stitches? The previous row is straight purl there, and the row before that doesn’t increase that part from 19 stitches.

7. cozystitches - March 29, 2009

Hey Laurie,

I’ve sent you a PM through Ravelry. 😀


Leave a Reply

